Pilar Rodríguez Aranda – The extraction

The bone and its anesthetized pain
present in ketoprofen distance
The electrical impulses of time are
one hundred percent body, ink and sky

Water accumulating blood and egg
The itching of an instant in a scapula
The song written in the meanwhile
Automatic singing in the darkness

I respond to the impulse of a few tears
Shared throbs absorbed
certainly invigorated in words
diffused in their abstract quantity

Thick is the taste of this intriguing liquid
traveling through us with life until it finds itself
displaced again by sheer departure
when nothing else obliges coagulation

It kills you equally with a blink and a tongue
A renegadedab of meat
Evolution’s prohibition in a quadrant
Bombing and pouring a vast coarse fright

Liberation, on the other side, blood in blood
Imagined incorporeal body spilling
in assignments which cry out from obscurity
forty three named in reagent

I swallow my blood product of the extraction
I swallow its thickness in my jaw
it’s the void in the silence of thousands
who cannot say what they want

The rebellious body hurts without tomorrow
Flaring up in frankness, memory
sweetly reflects the early night
in run-aground phrases, spreading out

Two plus two are not even one self
Alcohol sleeps the palate, calms me
My back demands attention and complains
I swallow again, exclamation brain

As if everything were asleep, except for
the void weighing between my shoulders
Between men and my wonderment
Right in the heart of my pain.

from unpublished manuscript Tetrad of Red Moons

Leave a comment